2M or Airband?

bignos

Im a noob to paramotoring but have had ppl and flown gliders.

Im a little confused about which radio to buy, im told that 2m is the one that most PPG pilots use to contact each other in the air, however the airlaw section on this site says that its illegal to use it in the air.

Airband makes sense if i want to fly into my local microlight or gliding club, and i have a licence because of my old ppl.

Im considering getting a radio that does both but am not sure.... any help is welcome!

There are no radios that we have been able to find that cover both VHF and airband that will give you the required AM transmission required on airband.

This is a subject that has been covered in previous threads if you do a search of the forum, and opinions are divided. Those with an aviation background seem to tend to favour airband, whilst those who would have to go through the hassle of the FRTL course tend to prefer VHF.

There is a select band of geeks who will try to use both , with an interface to allow both to be hooked up to your headset.

There are no radios that we have been able to find that cover both VHF and airband that will give you the required AM transmission required on airband.

This is a subject that has been covered in previous threads if you do a search of the forum, and opinions are divided. Those with an aviation background seem to tend to favour airband, whilst those who would have to go through the hassle of the FRTL course tend to prefer VHF.

There is a select band of geeks who will try to use both , with an interface to allow both to be hooked up to your headset.

I dont understand? am?

air band is defined as : 'Airband is used to mean the VHF band between 108 MHz and 137 MHz'

but 2m band is : 'The 2 meter amateur radio band is a portion of the VHF radio spectrum, comprising frequencies stretching from 144.000 to 146.000 MHz '

so a set that covers the range 108 - 146 would cover both bands would it not?