Paramotoring - moving in the right direction?

norman

Dear all,

I have posted a topic on the Paramotor Magazine's forum and would welcome your thoughts and comments either here or there.

This missive was prompted by a recent conversation with a paramotoring luminary who recounted a tale to me of a ditching in the sea by a friend. Had the guy not been a diver and had a cool head, he would not have survived. He emerged a changed man by all accounts.

A question for all.

Firstly let me assure you that I am not taking a pop at Paramotoring Magazine here, I read it cover to cover many times and delight in its content. My question is pitched at the general image projected by some sections of the growing PM industry and advertising machine. I pose my question as exactly that - not as a rant. In this corner of aviation, I am a newbie, in others earlier in life, certainly no innocent.

Simply put, is this sport selling the right 'product' and projecting the right image?

For me there seems to be a gap opening between what is actually happening, the legality of what is being suggested and best practice in an aviation enterprise.

Just about every magazine I pick up has pictures of guys either trailing their feet in the water or skimming across fields, rivers and plains at low level. The very act of low flying is being presented as one of the exhilarations available to paramoteurs, seemingly at will. The consequences of an rapid and involuntary ditching of a paramotor almost unthinkable given the dilemma faced by the uninitiated. All those straps, that spaghetti of kevlar/dynema line, reserve and flight deck.

Ask any Navy helicopter pilot if he/she emerged from the Dunker the same person who went in. Ask them what they think the chances their survival would be, even given their training, for a dunking in a paramotor in the murky depths of a fast moving river or seashore.

How many of us wear a lifejacket or receive training of this sort... legitimate questions?