Take off - Need advice, please

HDY

Hello,

I am a French paramotor apprentice, actually on the 3rd flight.

Since the 2nd flight, I have encountered a problem (not to be French !), I have an irrepressible, irrational desire to sit down from the start of a slight lift of the wing. So I stop running and find myself on the ground on my buttocks.

Of course, this is very dangerous, fortunately the engine is killed in time.

I don't understand this reflex,
- perhaps from the experience (2001) of the trike (take off sat on a seat),
- either from the seat of the harness which unfolds and goes down under the buttocks and the tilting which pushes me to sit down, ...

I do not know exactly but I hope it is not prohibitive.

Has this ever happened to you? How did you correct this instinctive movement?

Thanks for your help.

Dont take this as instruction, as I'm only at a similar level to you.

But I tried lengthening the leg straps slightly and think it helped. This means when you feel the lift, the seat is already lifted that extra inch and not so 'underneath' you if that makes sense.

Lengthen too far and you may struggle to get in the seat, but I think it helped me.

Then maybe when you get used to the sensation, you can go back to how they were.

• Like 1

It sounds like the harness is over-scooping you up. Have you tried a hang test? You should - you can adjust the harness for ease of getting in and out of the seat without overdoing it. 

Are you under instruction? If so then your instructor should be able to fix this easily with you. 

• Like 1

"willy forward". You must run with your willy as far forward as you can get and don't stop that until well in the air. This mind set is designed to not only keep your legs under you, but also to make you stand up straight so the the motor is pushing you forward.

• Like 1