My first paramotor build - Top 80 Skycruiser

steelmesh

Finally assembled this pile of parts.  I have no prior experience with paramotors, however I am an engineer/mechanic/technician/machinist/fabricator.  I don't want to pretend to know it all, sadly I don't, so part of the reason I'm posting is to see if I did it wrong (I'm embarrassed to label myself an engineer with that, because engineers know it all).  At first I was concerned with taking on this project, but after seeing many non-mechanic amateurs wrenching on their paramotors not dying, I moved forward with this diy build.  I decided to purchase a frame because I do not have a good understanding of paramotor geometry.  Technically I didn't build this, more like assembled it.

Engine: Top 80 w/ vittorazi throttle

Frame: Skycruiser Simple Aluminum

Harness: APCO SLT high hang

qwXfEiV.jpg

Southwest Top 80 throttle linkage mod (L-bracket).  I could not believe Top 80 / Miniplane will run the cable through that metal hole at 90 degree angle, I could not sleep at night:

cwLTmuh.jpg

Choke Linkage, 3/32" steel filler rod:

e3RwH4w.jpg

Choke OFF:

j3ylSxZ.jpg

Choke ON:

nFoKclt.jpg

CHT sensor display:

xhAYVJs.jpg

Throttle with RPM gage:

ckyNIr4.jpg

Kuntzleman SC103 strobe (meets FAR 103 requirement), custom mount (aluminium split collar I tig welded to):

TWWAeSO.jpg

The seat bottom has 3 inches / 75mm worth of impact foam:

oOsDvN3.jpgNXUcLqj.jpg

Waiting on the pull starter pulley (looks lost in the mail).  I will follow up with fuel system pictures and an overall mass.

See page 21 for comments on the foam I used: https://web.wpi.edu/Pubs/E-project/Available/E-project-042710-200525/unrestricted/Final_MQP_FSAE_Racecar_Crash_Protection.pdf

1 hour ago, steelmesh said:

Frame: Skycruiser Simple Aluminum

Good choice if you are a bodger (I mean "engineer")