Newbie Question

Hi All,

I am hoping to do a full paramotoring course in the UK in 2020. I have no wing flying experience to date other than skydiving. At the risk of sounding like I'm getting ahead of myself, I'd like to know more how accessible tandem flying will be for me after I have qualified.

Some key questions I have are:

• Is this something that can only be done safely with a lot of hours under your belt? If so, how many do you think?
  • Is it possible to fly solo on tandem equipment or would you need to have two sets?

I'd really like to be able to go flying with my wife so I want to be clear on how far away this dream is!

Thanks,

Ewan

In the order asked... 

I would say a minimum of 100 good take off and landings and around 100 hours before considering tandem passengers. (can be done in about 12 months if you are SUPER keen and have no life lol ) 

The Paramotor (MAY) be able to do the job of both but the wings will be different (you would need another wing) 

If you can dream it, you can do it! :-)

SW :D

Have you thought about doing a tandem yourself to give you an idea what is involved?

I did one, and even to my inexperienced eye I certainly wouldn't say it was trivial. 

If flying tandem is your main driver, it me be worth looking at microlight, as practically things are no different solo to tandem. Obviously you get a lot more regulation. 

• Like 1

I'm with paraflyer17 on this, if I wished to fly with my Mrs often (if she was interested in such things) I would be very very tempted to look at microlights as a much more practical option.
My legs are getting too old  to guarantee a launch in anything less that a 6mph wind and that is solo.
Its becoming such a pain in the ass, I am considering attempting to build a sub 70kg three axis.... setup time will be a bitch but ill be guaranteed a flight in nil wind :)

• 3 months later...
On 12/11/2019 at 10:05, Blackburn Mark said: