Ace Duffy Training Blog

Ace Duffy

I started training at Morningside Flight Park in Charlestown, New Hampshire, USA two Sundays ago.  I spent a week there working the instructor, Heath Woods, and camping on site.  Heath's down to earth, knowledgeable, and careful. 

Since it's a hill that also trains hang gliders and paragliders, I got a few launches off the 150 foot hill, a few tows, and a fair amount of kiting.  The weather was uncooperative - they don't have a particularly large field, so if the wind's not in the right direction, no flying. 

To look at me, you'd think I was pretty athletic and coordinated for man approaching 50.  But I am feeling every one of my years.  My knees hurt, my back hurts, and I pulled my right hamstring something nasty during a tow launch.  The day before, I tripped on another tow launch and skidded a good 15 yards across the ground.  All of this without even a motor on my back yet. 

But I'm heading back up for more this Sunday - weather permitting.  And assuming the hamstring heals acceptably.  Right now it's complaining that it didn't sign up for this flying thing.

Edited by Ace Duffy
confusing sentence
  • Like 2

Thank you, Simon.

Drove up to New Hampshire again this weekend.  There are great people up at Morningside.  Not so much great weather, though.  Two days there and only about 2 hours of kiting.  With winter coming quickly, I think I'll be starting over in the spring.  So THAT's why they call it parawaiting.  

• Haha 1

• 10 months later...

Back in March, just before Covid shut us down, my girlfriend Lisa and I traveled to Las Vegas to work with our instructor, Heath Woods, at the Jean Dry Lake bed just south of the city, because the weather there and terrain are normally conducive to good training.