Thrust - To much or not enough.? That is the question

Hi, Im still very new to the sport and definatly still learning. I've been looking at engine and one of the points I find interesting is how much thrust? Is there a table or rule of thumb that shows the required thrust to AUW? Or is there more to it. Any info mating or direction would be most appreciated. Cheers in advance. 

There is no right or wrong. However, less thrust = a longer take off run. Also, the heavier you are = a longer take off run. A smaller wing = a longer take off run.

If you are say 80 kg or over then you probably want any of the 200 cc size as going smaller will just make it difficult for you.

Going bigger can also make it more difficult as too much power can cause more issues that you don't want while learning.

29 minutes ago, AndyB said:

If you are say 80 kg or over then you probably want any of the 200 cc size as going smaller will just make it difficult for you.

I don’t know anything about power to weight charts with regards to thrust but just wanted to step in slightly. I’m not trying to argue but the above is a little wrong.

Im 120kg and have no issues with a moster 185cc, short take offs and good climb rate. 

9 hours ago, Paul (Jay) Jacques said:

Hi, Im still very new to the sport and definatly still learning. I've been looking at engine and one of the points I find interesting is how much thrust? Is there a table or rule of thumb that shows the required thrust to AUW? Or is there more to it. Any info mating or direction would be most appreciated. Cheers in advance. 

Speak with your instructor or give a dealer a call and discuss your All up weight, Fitness level, and the type of flying you want to do..  They will be able to advise you on a suitable engine or Paramotor set up that will suit YOU.. 

• Like 1