Breaking in a My19 Moster185

Evening All,

I am a noob and I have ordered a new MY19 Moster 185 which will be added to my V3 frame, a part of the process will be breaking the engine in. I watched one of Tucker Gotts videos in which he strapped his unit to a tree to do the breaking in process to save hurting his back. I know there is varied thoughts on running engines on/off your back but keen to get people’s thoughts on strapping the unit to a tree for this process?

Thanks Dan

Dan I did much the same with my Moster and V3 to the amusement of the neighbours!

Probably something not to do on a Sunday morning and get a good set of ear defenders.

I also need to break in my MY19 as just fitted a new new to my Scout and will do it on my back at the airfield this time.

Its not such a big deal and the cycles are fairly short just find something you can lean into as on the full power you will need support.

I was also watching CHT like a hawk not it never went above 160C (I have the head duct and sure it helps keep it cool).

Don't skimp on the 2T oil, I am still running 40:1 as in the engine manual, plugs are cheep and easy to change.

I bet they loved you, I'm lucky enough to have some land that i can go and do the break-in procedure without upsetting too many people.

I will wear my helmet with ear protection as i would rather be safe than sorry :-).

Re the temperature of the engine during the process - is it worth taking my leaf blower and leaving it on tick over pointed at the engine to provide additional airflow for cooling or will the draw from the props be more than enough?

After spending a tidy penny on the kit I'm not going to be skimping on any of the consumables. :)

• Like 1

14 hours ago, funnydan85 said:

Evening All,

I am a noob and I have ordered a new MY19 Moster 185, I know there is varied thoughts on running engines on/off your back but keen to get people’s thoughts on strapping the unit to a tree for this process?

Thanks Dan