Flying over the Bristol Channel

Hi all, I'm a newbie from Wales. Not started any training yet just wanted to ask the question whether flying over the Bristol Channel would be a feasible option for a paramotor?

After looking at the restricted air space the shortest crossing closest to me is a little under 20km. After doing some research it seems that should an issue occur landing in water is one of the last things that you want to do on a paramotor. But I was thinking if I started the crossing at 3000-4000m should I get into any trouble I could just glide to the other side? I have friends and family on the other side so I can wait for favourable wind conditions to fly back to the other side.

On another note my closest instructor axis would want me to learn to paraglide before I learn PPG. What are your opinions of this (i dont really have any desire to fly without a motor) would it be better to just travel to an instructor that will start me on a paramotor?

Welcome to PMC Saiwha. You have a bit of a grand ambition there, not just crossing the channel but doing it at two or more miles high. I'd give yourself a bit of experience (actually quite a bit) before you think about that kind of undertaking. 

For large water crossings you'd also need boat cover, emergency buoyancy and lots of other stuff to think about. If I were you I'd just focus on getting some training for now. Steve at Axis is a good guy.

A lot of people just go straight to PPG but you'll need to learn to control the glider before you add a power unit.

Whereabouts are you located? 

• Like 1

Yes, I wasn't planning on taking the trip until I was well experienced flying over land just wanted to know if ultimately it was a possibility. 

I was hoping to take the trip alone, would starting the crossing at a height where I could glide to land make the boat cover unnecessary? 

I am located just outside Bridgend.

Hi Saiwha, I am currently training with Steve at Axis and he is indeed a good guy.