I’m 5kg under Paramotor wing recommendation

Ukshotter

I’m a beginner & I’ve purchased a apco force ll 25.5 metre wing but with motor on & all my gear i weigh 120kg the recommendation for the wing is 125kg-165kg so I’m light on the wing I’m not intending on flying in over 10 mph winds I’ve done a bit of reading up on been over weight but not found much on under weight so what’s your thoughts on me flying this wing please.

49FA78C5-2F02-4417-941A-DA461EB43A08.png

Edited by Ukshotter
Uploaded photo wing spec

Personally speaking I would be wary about a beginner flying this wing full stop. Apco market the wing as an intermediate wing and from first hand experience it handles like one. I had about 150hours when I bought a small Force 2 and was within its recommended weight range. Take off was what you could expect from an intermediate wing, it required the correct handling and technique to get airborne. It was stable in flight and handled rough air well. I found that it was extremely difficult to brush off speed when landing, meaning a very fast run off in low wind conditions. 

After 25 hours on the wing I took off one evening in nil wind conditions and began to carry out a normal 180 degree right hand turn (with torque) about 15 seconds after leaving the ground. The wing span and I hit the ground from about 80feet, breaking 3 vertebrae in my lower back.

Anyone who has flown with me knows that stunts are not my thing. I have the crash on video and some very experienced and respected instructors within our community have viewed the video and are perplexed as to why the wing behaved like it did.

I will take it on the chin that I probably pulled too much brake but it certainly did not feel like it, I did not feel like I was turning hard and was taken by complete surprise when it span. There was no warning at all that I was getting near to the wings limit.