In the early 1990's I started to learn to paraglide, after a days tuition I learnt the cost of the kit and never went back for another lesson; I would never be able to afford that much money on a hobby! Then 6 months later a friend I was a ski instructor with in Europe bought a new wing and I asked what he was doing with his old one. He suggested it was only worth 1000 Austrian Schillings (£300) and I bought it off him without even seeing it! I was the proud owner of an "Inferno" with built in harness! Then I took ten days lessons with Brian Webb in Australia (flying every day!) and spent a whole season on my Inferno wing. Occasionally managing to soar, but mostly 20 minutes top-to-bottoms in the Alps.

At that point you find the money for new kit, upgrade to new wing, harness and reserve; you love the sport and money is no object....

Over the next ten years, I upgraded another four times until I had a competition wing and was flying in comp's all over the World; several over 100km's, race to goal at 126 km's (second on day, 12 made goal) and even an over 100 mile flight.

Now over 20 years later I have learnt to paramotor with Steve at Axis; my BHPA licence now has the power rating and I'm looking at the kit. I need a paramotor, wing and reserve, minimum; none of my old kit is suitable, well maybe my flytec instrument!

To buy new is out of the question. Approx. £9000 is never going to happen. Old second hand kit that has been left in a garage for 10 years is probably now heavy, dangerous and no longer suitable, especially for a beginner. There is loads of kit on ebay like this.

The 6 million dollar question is....

How much do I need to spend to get kit that is suitable? Is it possible for 2-3 thousand pound? I hear about people that buy a whole set up for £1000, and actually get to fly with it.