Newbie wing collapses

cianpars

As a newbie yet to fly a paramotor for the first time, an area of concern is wing collapses.  I have a Full PPL that lapsed 15 yrs ago, 400 glider flights and a handful of microlight flights from many years ago.

Coyld anyone give me their thoughts on causes, effects and recovery.  How often do these occur? etc.  I'm obviously aware of thermals and gusts, but to what extent are they a risk to the parawing.

I can see that novice wings are more stable than competition and intermediate wings.

Particularly would welcome discussion around high level, low level and turn induced collapses.

Thanks.

I have been paramotoring for 17 years and never had a collapse that needed any piloting input to recover from. Sure I have  had a few minor ones but wing has recovered before I could react. Just do not buy a hot shot wing and make sure your well into the weight range. If your light on a wing its more prone to wing tip collapses . 

The most problematic time with wing collapses for me whilst motoring has been when hitting thermic activity...i have had some doozies in this regard. I think that the solution is simple...if that sort of stuff is outside ones comfort zone (which also tends to be outside ones ability too i might add) avoid flying in such conditions. If you want to fly in the middle of the day and there is thermic activity around its best to be coastal i reckon.

The reality is that wing loading and collapse resistance is to some extent a double edged sword.

If you are heavy on wing....remembering most paramotor wing loadings are significantly higher than free flying counterparts on similar sized wings, then the amount of wing dynamics is significantly higher