Newbie here with a few questions.........

Hello everyone, my name is Chris and I'm a first time poster to this forum and brand new to paramotoring/paragliding.........

I am DEFINITELY going to buy either a paramotor or a paraglider and I just have a few questions for those of you seasoned veterans.......

I live in Knoxville, TN (near the Smokey Mountains) and I want to be able to get outdoors with one of these things and explore. I'd also like to be able to fly around the mountains near where I live as well as fly distances from one city to another (if that's at all possible.) It's also very important to me that I be able to carry passengers because I want to be able to share this experience with others.

My questions are.........

1) Based on what I want to do, what type of paraglider/paramotor would be best for me to purchase?

2) How much total money should I expect to spend?

3) Where do I find training to do this?

4) Are there any FAA rules that I have to follow such as I can't fly over certain areas or I need to get some kind of a license to do this?

Your feedback would be much appreciated and I look forward to getting to know you all on this forum, thanks!

Chris.

Chris, I am a long way from being a seasoned veteran. I've got about 6hrs in the air over about 15 flights so still have a lot to learn. I'm maybe just getting to the point where I can start to appreciate how little i actually know !

I'll try to answer your questions - most of them are questions I asked myself so hear goes....

1) Get training first. The very worst thing you can do is go out and buy equipment with no idea of teh kind of flying you want to end up doing. Do you want high hangpoint/low hangpoint? Lightweight or more durable? Faster smaller wing or bigger easier wing? Get trained first !  I bought my wing about 2 training days before my 1st flight and my motor after my second flight.