Intro & advice needed

Hi everyone from a new member and old fart.  All I know about paramotoring so far is from the web & YouTube vids - I am a total newbie to this sport.  I am a reasonably fit & healthy 72kg 62 year old who started flying at the age of 14, first sailplanes, then power single & twin light aircraft, and then rotary (helicopters).  I have had a PPL for 30 years but not flown for the past 5 years because it has become too expensive to justify.  So I am now looking seriously at trying paramotors as a fix for my addiction to flight - besides, it seems to be a far more pure & free way to fly, even better than sailplanes.  I will of course have a far better idea after taking an introductory lesson (cannot do that till end of July due to other commitments), but maybe I could ask for some preliminary advice ...

My ultimate aim is to take paramotoring holidays.  e.g. I might take a ferry across the channel or a commercial flight to somewhere more distant, then paramotor all over Europe, Asia or elsewhere for a couple of weeks, using other forms of transport as little as possible (in some places it would be faster than by road!)  The weight of the equipment would appear to fit into a commercial airline standard luggage allowance with enough left over for a laptop, toothbrush and a few shirts, though size may be an issue.  How realistic is that dream?  Would it be feasible to carry circa 10-15kg of luggage on a paramotor?

Also, my total budget for the purchase of all the necessary equipment would be around £10k.  Will that be enough?

• Upvote 2

There are motors out there that will do the job. Another thing you'll need to consider, when adding weight, is the wing. Make sure your instructor knows what your plans are as far as the extra weight so he/she can fit you correctly. But absolutely doable.

• Upvote 2