Newbie radio question

Hi all

I am new to paramotors and trying to work out the norms for RT whilst flying. Looking on the CAA website it seems to gain a RT licence it has to be coupled with a NPPL for example. I have a bit of experience with GA and microlights and aim to take my paramotoring cross country eventually. Do people routinely monitor local frequencies but not transmit or is there some other way to communicate legally to help improve everyones situational awareness.

Thanks in advance 

Rich

I've been flying paragliders and paramotors for about 9 years in the UK. I've never met anyone who has a license for their radio. Everyone I've met uses the frequencies around 144 which is tolerated by the radio monitoring police / radio hams, although not strickly legal. You can get an unlocked VHF radio very easily - either from ebay for less than £30 or from a UK radio seller (just request they open up the frequencies for you) - it's much easier than bothering to unlock/hack the radio yourself which may require soldering. Even the low powered ones work for miles when you're up in the air.

Also if you use a radio you'll probably want to use an resistor type spark plug (if it start BR and it's made by NGK then it is) to minimise interference.

I'd also like to clarify what sort of radio is best. Or most commonly used. I have a selection currently and have made my own head sets to suit both. I have a set of Motorola T80 extreme and I have a set of Baofeng UV-5R. It depends who I'm flying with as to what I'm using but I was hoping to fly in and out of a local micro light and light aircraft runway. They use the safetycom frequency for airfield coms 135.475 which I thought I'd be able to get on my Baofeng to listen in on any coms and traffic but the baofeng won't accept this frequency. Is there an other radio I would need for this?