Dudek Synthesis 2 reflex v Advance Alpha 6

Funkibug

Hi all, as a newbie and novice (yet to fly a paramotor but hopefully very soon) I would like to ask some basic advice.

I already own an Advance Alpha 6 paraglider wing. Its a 31 and with hybrid risers it is certified to take a paramotor.

but its not a reflex wing.

What I would like to know is, would a reflex wing, like the Dudek Synthesis 2, be easier to handle, be more stable in the air etc, as it's a design specifically for a paramotor, compared to a paraglider wing like the Advance Alpha 6 with hybrid risers?

Being a novice, my interest will be to enjoy the view, have fun, and be safe. I will not be into ball busting acro moves.

Thanks

Steve

Reflex sure have higher pressure in leading edge area and are a bit more resistant to turbulence and sometimes way faster. But... the Advance Alpha 6  is still an amazing wing for any pilot, lots of safety, easy handling, and probably good fuel economy. Designed with lots of passive safety. Fly the Alpha, be happy, when you have 100 hours, decide if you want something else. It's a perfectly fine paramotor wing, ~48km/h on the Alpha, not bad.

Edited by Casper

Hi Casper, I am not interested in speed, just stability. If I am safer and more stable in a Synthesis 2 compared to Alpha 6, then I would use the Alpha for paragliding and get the Dudek just for paramotoring.

I just needed to know if there was much handling difference, one being a reflex. And it seems there is.

• Upvote 1

On 1/16/2017 at 02:09, Funkibug said:

Hi Casper, I am not interested in speed, just stability. If I am safer and more stable in a Synthesis 2 compared to Alpha 6, then I would use the Alpha for paragliding and get the Dudek just for paramotoring.

I just needed to know if there was much handling difference, one being a reflex. And it seems there is.

Hi

the same question 

• 1 month later...
4 hours ago, admin (Simon W) said:

The main factors that effect speed and efficiency include: