Reserves

Never fly without one myself! It may or may not save me in brown moment... but having nothing definitely won't. Christian put it so well... 'I owe it to my family'.

That said you need to look after it to ensure you can use it if you need to and that it isn't going to deploy when you don't want it to.

Oh, and buy a new one!

Lee

• Upvote 1

Here in Italy most of the "experienced" pilots fly with a reserve.

Most does not mean all.... but let's say that abt. a 60% of the pilots use it.

Being a novice I have not yet bought my reserve, but will be my next purchase. If you fly at low altitude a reserve is nothing more than a dead weight, but once you fly over 1000 ft that dead weight can turn into something that can save your life.

I flew for my first four years without one, working on the principle that we generally aim to fly in stable air. One day when it wasn't so stable I realised that the last thing I wanted to happen was to be wishing 'If only I had a reserve'. Never fly without it now. 

It's another thing which needs to be included in preflights, as well as checking and repacking every year or two and it needs mindfulness when flying (I've seen one accidentally deployed on launch). 

• Upvote 1

very interesting site !

Well, this is only my opinion, but I think that considering all the involved operations, i.e. evaluation of the problem, decision to deploy, deployment, opening of the parachute, 1000 ft. are the minimum height.

but I may be wrong.

That is not true. You are never "too low to throw".

The reserve does not have to deploy fully for you to have a benefit.

Even if it does not deploy in time it will still have an aerodynamic effect of slowing you down a bit. I have seen videos of people throwing reserves from 10m and it making a difference so that they survive as opposed to probably die.