Where can I fly from?

DaveBGD

Hi all I'm Dave,

I'm a relative newbie.... Trained 2 years ago, 8 successful flights + 1 dodgy landing!

One of the reasons why i haven't flown more is that the field I fly from has lots of hazards.... It is boggy when wet, there are thistles and I'm worried about snagging my wing etc.

My question is where am i allowd to fly from?

I know you should seek permission from the land owner but this is difficult and I find awkward (I have met 2 grumpy farmers allready!)

Whenever I drive in the countryside I see brilliant fields to fly from but I want to know if I allowed to?

Beach?

Fields where public have a right to access / right of way?

General open land?

Thanks for reading and hope to hear how you guys find the perfect flying field...

Cheers

Dave

Corsair black devil 172

Paratoys wing

Hi Dave

The general rule is that you can take off from pretty much anywhere you have permission. All land is owned by someone, so strictly speaking, launching from somewhere you don't have permission is trespass.

You also need to be aware of any airspace issues, so should have an up to date airmap (which you are supposed to carry with you when flying).

There's a few previous postings on this forum about the best way of approaching landowners to use their field. While i've had some farmers refuse to give me permission, they've always been pretty polite and had genuine reasons for saying no.

Where abouts in the UK are you? There are several paramotor-friendly fields mentioned on this forum. Many require a small subscription, but there maybe something near you.